Erasmus+ grants for non-European mobility

A4U partnered with leading universities in Russia, South Africa, India, Iran and  Indonesia to fund staff and student exchange between them and universities members of A4U through Erasmus+ programme.

Erasmus+ is a European programme that extends the Erasmus scheme to countries beyond Europe. This means that European students can go for a study period to non-European universities and vice versa, non-European students can come for exchange to European universities. Teaching and administrative staff can also carry out mobilities.

In 2015 A4U started Erasmus+ exchange with leading universities in Russia and South Africa and since then awarded 40 grants for mobility with South Africa and 107 grants for mobility with Russia.

In 2018 partner universities from Iran, Indian and Indonesia joined A4U Erasmus+ mobility programme. It is expected that during 2018 and 2019 14 mobilities will take place between Spain and Iran, 15 between Spain and India, and 22 between Spain and Indonesia. Student and staff exchange with Russia and South Africa will also continue.

Bachelor students, PhD students and staff from A4U universities and partner universities in these countries can apply. The programme is open to all subject areas. Erasmus+ grant covers maintenance and travel expenses for a minimum of 3 months up to a maximum of 5 months for students, and for 7 days for staff.

As per Erasmus+ requirement, the study abroad period is recognised by the sending university, and the obtained credits appear in the student’s academic record. Staff deliver 8 hours of teaching or receive training during their stay and use it to start or consolidate cooperation with the partner institution.

Universities that take part in A4U Erasmus+ programme are:

Spain: Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona, Universidad Autónoma de Madrid, Universidad Carlos III de Madrid, Universitat Pompeu Fabra in Barcelona.

Russia: Lomonosov Moscow State University, Higher School of Economics, Russian Presidential Academy of National Economy and Public Administration (RANEPA), New Economic School, Moscow Power Engineering Institute, Russian State University for the Humanities, North-West Institute of Management, Branch of RANEPA (St. Petersburg), St. Petersburg University of Information Technologies, Mechanics and Optics (ITMO), St. Petersburg State Polytechnic University, Southern Federal University.

South Africa: University of Pretoria, University of the Witwatersrand, Stellenbosch University, University of Cape Town, University of the Western Cape, University of the Free State.

Iran: University of Tehran, Allameh Tabataba’i University, Amirkabir University of Technology.

India: Indian Institute of Science of Bangalore, Symbiosis International University Pune, Jawaharlal Nehru University Delhi, St. Xavier’s College Mumbai, Jaypee Institute of Information Technologies, Indian Institute of Technology of Delhi, Indian Institute of Technology Bombay.

Indonesia: Universitas Indonesia, Institute of Technology of Bandung, Universitas Gadjah Mada, Universitas Airlangga, BINUS University, Telkom University, Universitas Muhammadiyah Yogyakarta.

It is expected that as a result of this exchange programme all participating universities:

  • Help mobility participants enhance their professional, social and intercultural capabilities, as well as employability;
  • Create links for cooperation in teaching and research;
  • Increase the number of international students and staff, which contributes to their internationalisation;
  • Attract talent and improve their international outreach.

In the future A4U intends to continue applying for Erasmus+ funds to ensure the sustainability of this mobility programme. More information is available on