The A4U is an independent legal entity with a transparent, flexible and participative organizational structure. It has a Board of Directors and a General Assembly, which hold ordinary meetings at least once a year.

The Board of Directors is appointed for a two-year term, and the presidency rotates between the four partner universities. The A4U’s Board of Directors consists of a president, a secretary and a treasurer, all from the university holding the presidency, and three vice-presidents, representing each of the three remaining universities.

The General Assembly includes the members of the Board of Directors as well as representatives of the other A4U partners. The Alliance’s various working groups report to the General Assembly on their work and the status of their projects.

In 2018, UAB assumed the presidency of the A4U. Currently, the members of the Board of Directors are as follows.

Margarita Arboix, rector of UAB

Margarita Arboix is Professor of Pharmacology at the Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona. She holds a PhD in Biology and joined the UAB in 1976 in the Department of Pharmacology of the Faculty of Medicine, and in 1985 began teaching on courses in veterinary medicine.

She has been both Vice Dean and Dean of the Faculty of Veterinary Medicine, Head of the Department of Pharmacology, Therapeutics and Toxicology and a member of the Board of Directors of the European Association of Establishments for Veterinary Education.

She has also held the positions of Deputy Director General of Veterinary Medicines of the Spanish Agency for Medicines and Health Products, the Board of Regional Health Services in Barcelona and the General Directorate for Agriculture and Husbandry of the Ministry for the Environment, Rural and Marine Zones.

She was elected rector of the UAB on 6 June 2016.

Rafael Garesse, rector of UAM

Prof. Rafael Garesse is the rector of the Universidad Autónoma de Madrid since June 2017. Doctor in Biochemistry and Molecular Biology from Universidad Complutense of Madrid (1981), he followed the training program in Clinical Biochemistry in the Hospital Puerta de Hierro (Madrid). He has been visiting professor at the Institute of Genetics of the University of Glasgow (UK) and the Institute of Genetics and Molecular Biology of the CNRS in Strasbourg (F). Full Professor of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology at the Faculty of Medicine of the UAM, his line of research has focused on the study of various aspects of mitochondrial physiopathology.

Dr. Garesse was vice president of the committee of human resources of the Spanish Institute of Health from 2004 to 2007 and president from 2007 to 2009. He was vice-rector of research of the UAM since July 2009 to May 2017. He is the author of more than 100 scientific publications in the field of mitochondrial and metabolic diseases, PI of more than 30 projects funded by national and international agencies and supervisor of 20 PhD thesis.

Juan Romo, rector of UC3M

Obtained his B.Sc. in Mathematics with Honors from Universidad Complutense de Madrid and his Ph.D. in Mathematics from Texas A&M University. Postdoc in City University of New York. He has been Associate Professor, both in Universidad Complutense de Madrid and Universidad Carlos III de Madrid, where he is Professor of Statistics and Operations Research since 1996. He has been serving as Vice-President for Graduate Studies and Vice-President for Faculty and Departments in UC3M.

He is its current rector since March 2015.

Coauthor of four books, he has published articles in research journals on functional data analysis, resampling techniques and time series. His current research includes applications in genetics (microarrays), financial data, big data and image analysis.

Jaume Casals, rector of UPF

Dr Jaume Casals is a Professor of Philosophy at UPF and its rector since 2013, where he has also been the Chairman of Academic Board of Continuing Education Institute (IDEC) and Executive Vice-President (2009-2013), Vice-Rector for Teaching Staff (2005-2009) and for Postgraduate and Doctoral Studies (2001-2005), as well as Dean of Faculty of Humanities (2000-2001).

Senior fellow of the Institute for Catalan Studies, his main lines of research include the Greek genesis of modern and contemporary thought, philosophy and literature. He has translated and edited works by Montaigne, Montesquieu, Berkeley and Bergson, and is the author of 40 articles and the books La filosofía de Montaigne (The Philosophy of Montaigne); L’experiment d’Aristòtil. Literatura d’una incursió en la metafísica (Aristotle’s Experiment: Literature of an Incursion into Metaphysics); El pou de la paraula. Una història de la saviesa griega (The Well of Words: A History of Greek Wisdom) and El aprendizaje de la muerte en la historia de las ideas (Learning from Death in the History of Ideas).

He was also President of the University Libraries Consortium of Catalonia (CBUC, 2005-2009), joint editor-en-chief of the journal L’Avenç (1999-2000) and contributor and member of the editorial boards of various international scientific series on Renaissance literature and philosophy .

Secretary: Rafael Rebollo, Secretary General of UAB

Treasurer: Jaume Tintoré, Executive Administrator of UAB