Call for applications for mobility with Russia and South Africa

The call closed on 21 April 2017.

The Alliance 4 Universities has been awarded funds under Erasmus+ International Credit Mobility programme (Action KA107). Through these funds, students and faculty from Russian and South African partner universities and from A4U universities have the opportunity to participate in mobility schemes. The following universities from Russia participate in the mobility scheme:

  • Higher School of Economics
  • Kazan State Technological University
  • Lomonosov Moscow State University
  • Moscow Power Engineering Institute
  • Moscow State Law Academy
  • New School of Economics
  • North-West Institute of Management
  • Omsk State University
  • Pyatigorsk State Linguistic University
  • Russian Presidential Academy of National Economy and Public Administration (RANEPA)
  • Russian State University for the Humanities
  • Southern Federal University
  • Petersburg State Polytechnic University
  • Petersburg University of Information Technologies, Mechanics and Optics (ITMO)
  • Strelka Institute

The following universities from South Africa participate in the mobility programme:

  • University of the Witwatersrand
  • University of Pretoria
  • Stellenbosch University
  • University of Cape Town

Who can apply and how long can the mobility be? The call for Russia is for Bachelor (IN and OUT), PhD students (IN and OUT) and Faculty (IN and OUT). The call for South Africa is for Bachelor and Master students (only from South Africa to Spain), PhD students (IN and OUT), and Faculty (IN and OUT).

What expenses are covered by the grant? Grants provide a monthly/daily allowance according to the category of the mobility and the receiving country, and a fixed travel quota to cover the flight expenses.

When can the mobility be carried out? Mobilities under this call should be carried out during 2017-2018 academic year, and end before 31 July 2018.

How to apply? Please, read carefully the Call Guidelines before starting the application process. Go to the necessary category of mobility below (Bachelor, PhD or Faculty), complete the online application form and attach the requested documents.

Who has to sign learning agreements (for Bachelor and Master students) and mobility proposals (for PhD students and faculty)? In case of Bachelor students, it is usually the academic coordinator at the faculty/department where the student is studying, that signs that agreement on behalf of the sending institution (the logic being that the academic coordinator needs to endorse the courses chosen for study during mobility and be prepared to recognise them back at home university). At the receiving institution, it is usually the Mobility Office that obtains the signature for the student from the relevant faculty/department.

In case of Master students, it is usually the director of the Master programme who signs the form, the reasoning being the same: that they have to endorse the chosen courses and be prepared to recognise them. At the receiving institution, it is usually the Mobility Office that obtains the signature for the student from the relevant Department/Faculty.

In case of PhD students, it is usually the supervisor who signs the form. Since the point of the mobility is to advance further in thesis, the supervisor has to agree that the proposed programme of activities during mobility is indeed beneficial to the doctoral student´s progress. At the receiving institution, the Mobility Office can help contact or obtain the signature for the student from the relevant Department/Faculty.

In case of teaching staff, the Head of Department/Faculty, another designated person or the host teaching staff can sign the proposal on behalf of the sending and the receiving institutions. The Mobility Office at the receiving institution can help in making contacts.

If for some reasons (travel, etc.) the persons responsible at the academic Departments/Faculties cannot sign the learning agreements or the mobility proposals, the International Office at the sending and and the receiving institutions can sign them, having previously made sure that they have the approval of the relevant Department/Faculty.

The contact details of the mobility offices at A4U Universities are listed below.

Call Guidelines for Russia

Call Guidelines for South Africa

Results of the eligibility check

Selection results

Application for mobility for Bachelor students (incoming and outgoing with Russia, and incoming from South Africa) and Master students (incoming from South Africa)

  • Application Form
  • – Transcript of Records
  • Learning Agreement Proposal (fill the 1st page only. Only proposals signed by both sending and receiving institutions will be accepted. Signatures can be scanned)
  • – Nomination letter (free format)
  • – Motivation letter (free format)

Application for mobility for incoming and outgoing PhD students

Application for mobility for incoming and outgoing Faculty

Contact details at A4U universities

Mobility Office at Universidad Autónoma de Barcelona (UAB): / +34 93 586 8499

 Mobility Office at Universidad Autónoma de Madrid (UAM): / +34 91 497 2935, + 34 91 497 3283

 Mobility Office at Universidad Carlos III de Madrid (UC3M): / +34 91 624 9550

 Mobility Office at Universidad Pompeu Fabra (UPF):

+34 935 422 203 (for queries of  Bachelor and Master students)

+34 935 422 276 (for queries of PhD students and teaching staff)